Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Nowadays, every individual is exposed to advertising during their day time. Some claim that these advertisements convince us to purchase unnecessary things. The others claim that they can be beneficial for us to increase our life standards. This essay will examine these two views and I will share my own opinion and why I completely agree with the former idea. People who argue that advertising encourages us to buy things we do not really need, think people can see an advertisement on TV or the internet and they can purchase it without any reason. Their biggest supporter is social media, it is obvious to see the effects of social media on people especially persuade them to buy something unessential. Also, they claim that if any celebrity shares a product on their official account on social media they can easily influence people, that is why famous brands pay a lot of money to these celebrities for commercial purposes. Others claim that advertising can change our lives in an appropriate way. They believe that people can be informed about cutting-edge technologies and useful tools for household tasks by commercials and other advertising tools. Also, they support the commercial companies to learn new brands and they believe these companies have a tremendous impact on society. Moreover, they believe celebrities can lead our lives for a better future. In many cases, they do what celebrities suggest without any queries. In my opinion, advertising can cause misleading and overconsumption in society. Firstly, I claim that people who are under a certain age can be persuaded easily to buy unnecessary things. Also, these unessential purchases may trigger a bigger problem which is overconsumption. They should be informed about these actions by authorities. For example, recently I saw a commercial on TV about a fancy bookmark and after a short time I started to observe that the majority of adolescents have this product, even though they don’t really need it. Moreover, I have experienced it a lot of time, on social media some celebrities and influencers attempt to make people buy the product of their sponsorship. That’s why I believe advertising misleads people to buy unnecessary things. In conclusion, there are two different ideas which separate people into two groups about advertising. Therefore, I strongly agree with the former idea, which claims that advertising encourages people to purchase the unessential things.