Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

I agree with the viewpoint that “advertising anchorages us to buy things that we really do not need. ” Another word for advertisement is ‘a tool of marketing strategy’. To introduce their product or services or to promote their product or services this advertisement will highly useful. If we have never seen an advertisement of a product and first time see that product in the market, we never want to buy. That is, we do not like to just try. If we have already seen that product in the advertisement, we may want to buy it and see how it works. That is by seeing an advertisement over and over again, we indirectly become familiar with that product before we buy and use it. To make us familiar with the products, the product owners make sure we watch their  advertisements again and again. In the advertisement, they show only the advantages of the product. That is an advantage for the marketers, but a disadvantage for the customers. While the marketing people encourage us to buy the things, we need to identify its disadvantages only after experiencing the product or services. Some products are really essential for our life while some are not at all essential. Sometimes we purchase products that are optional for us. We may experience a new detergent powder since it was telecasted several times.   This is the insisting part of advertisements on customers’ mind. Each customer is different. All are not same. Same product will not convince all the public. Some products target children, kinder joy, chocolates, toys, cartoon products and etc. Even though parents know that a product is not good for their children, but they are insisted in buying the product by the children. Children get attracted to a product after  they see the advertisement on television. Finally, I would conclude, that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need.