Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

I think that everyone can divide all advertising products and services into useless ones and useful ones. It is like looking through an information desk when you pay attention to those messages that interest you. Take me for example. I do not like jewellery. It does not mean I do not have it at all, I have a couple of inexpensive rings as gifts from my parents. I just think people pay too much attention to this stuff. I believe it is the result of mass advertising. Every day when I am watching TV, listening to the radio or reading the paper I notice many ads about getting an expensive ring, chain, necklace or earrings. From my point of view, these kinds of advertising contaminate people's minds. In this case, you are encouraged to buy things you do not really need. They make you believe you need such products in order to succeed or be happy. From the other side, I think that advertisements of the new detergents with up-to-date formulas to help you maintain your cloth in perfect conditions, the new cars with some extra futures that make your travelling more comfortable and sports goods that make your life healthier may help you to improve your life. Recently my husband and I saw an ad on the Internet about a very interesting and inexpensive vacation to Japan for a week. Is not it awesome? We like travelling. So now we are planning to find out more about it and, maybe, make reservations. I believe that, without advertisements, we would be unaware about plenty of opportunities that may make our life happier, easier and less stressful. My point is that every person has his own scale of values. So if he is vegetarian he will consider an ad about meat products useless for him.