Plagiarism in academic has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

In the modern age of technology plagiarism has become a serious problem in many parts of the world particularly in academic institutions. This essay will discuss the reasons why this occurring and offer some solutions. The major reason for this situation is easy access to information. With the vast availability of digital gadgets and internet services, people, especially students, are capable of getting information about anything, at anywhere and at anytime. Rather than using their brains, students browse the internet and copy the information and paste it under their own names. Another factor that can be attributed to this problem is the paid publication of research works. Students of professional studies have to submit their thesis at the end of degrees and have to publish papers which should be plagiarism free. Having the availability of paid platforms to publish papers, they just pay some fees and publish their papers without any consideration of plagiarism. However, there are a variety of possible solutions available to address this problem. Firstly, the academic institutions should take steps to reduce it. They may give proper guidance to students for their research works and motivate them to use textbooks from libraries rather than copy paste from the internet. For this, institutions should recruit experienced guides. Another way to combat this problem is identifying the paid journals and restricting the students for publishing their papers on these journals. If a student publishes his paper on such journals, then his degree should hold on. In conclusion, easy accessibility and publication are to blame for increasing plagiarism. Only after taking steps by academic institutions can prevent the copyright infringement.