Some people say television contributes more than other modern inventions to the quality of life of ordinary people.

It is sometimes argued that television plays a more essential role in our life than any other advancements of today’s world. Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view. To begin with, our daily activities will be seriously hindered without other modern innovations, whose functions cannot be performed by television. Firstly, nowadays, an average person is likely to spend a notable amount of time on roads travelling between, for example, his or her workplace and home. Therefore, the significance of vehicles such as cars and motorbikes cannot be denied. Secondly, a host of different important activities can be undertaken on our smartphones or laptops. These electronic appliances facilitate some of our very basic needs like working, exchanging information and getting access to almost limitless sources of information. They can also serve the purposes of entertaining and catching up with the latest current affairs, which are the core functions of television. Of course, advocates of the aforementioned idea may argue that there are now smart televisions which can perform similar tasks fulfilled by a laptop. However, from my point of view, these so-called smart TVs are far to be able to completely replace laptops or computers in general. Numerous applications such as those published by Microsoft, which are considered to be basic yet useful ones on computers, cannot efficiently or even normally function on these enhanced versions of televisions. In addition, smart TVs usually come at exorbitant prices which are unaffordable for most of the general population. To conclude, it is absurd, in my opinion, to argue that the contribution of television can outweigh that of other inventions.