As most people spend a major part of their life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor contributes to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Since the majority of adults spend a considerable amount of their time at work, job satisfaction has become instrumental in the well-being of an individual. Respect, pride, appreciation are some of the reasons for job fulfilment, while getting it in reality is a far away dream for a few staff, because of unemployment and the need of money to feed the family. Employees get work fulfilment in a number of ways, to begin with, a job is more than a pay cheque, which needs to be a source of pride and self respect. Additionally, feeling valued, valuable work, positive feedback and training opportunities develop skills, this contributes toward a sense of progression and purpose that rewards a worker. Moreover, the sense of belonging to a team or a working community also adds to job satisfaction, as colleagues help each other to enjoy working lives. To illustrate, according to a recent survey two factors came on top, where almost 80% of people agree that they would stick to jobs if valued by managers and offered opportunities to progress. However, hard economic realities mean that many people have little choice in getting the right job. In some cases an employee is working in a job that suits neither their skills nor their personality. Furthermore, the money earned is just enough to pay their living expenses which often means going through periods of discontentment. For instance, a poll conducted online states that 70% of people would leave jobs if it were not for money. In conclusion, even though it is unlikely for everyone feeling content with a job, still it is not unrealistic to promote job satisfaction in any field. If above factors are implemented, any job can be improved to create a greater degree of job fulfilment.