Some people claim that not enough of their waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

It is evident that recycling is among the most efficient ways of maintaining a clean, waste-free environment. There is a notion that it should be legally obligatory for people to recycle, which I agree with to a certain extent as other measures also need to be employed in order to settle the problem. On the one hand, enacting new laws would help a great deal with increasing the amount of waste recycled. Obviously, there are people who only act when they are bound to the law. Governments can impose regulations on the classification of garbage, which certainly facilitate the process of recycling. Different forms of punishment ranging from fines or community service to even imprisonment can be adopted depending on the severity of the offence. On the other hand, government should do more than just legislating on recycling. Education needs to be regarded core to the resolution of the issue. For instance, children could be taught about the negative effects of domestic waste on the environment as well as the importance of recycling in lessening such adversity. The distribution of guidebooks on the classification and recycling of waste to every household can be similarly of help. In addition, another tactic that governments can use is to allocate more budget to the construction and operation of recycling units in different regions within a country, especially in major cities. As the facilities for recycling is improved, the process can be performed more easily and productively. All in all, even though it is perhaps necessary to introduce new laws that regulate recycling, it is much more significant to deploy a number of different methods simultaneously.