Some people say schools should be responsible to teach young adults to look after their health, others think this is not responsibility of schools.

Who is accountable for teaching the young generation how to be healthy and fit has become a hot topic of discussion these days. Some people perceive that schools have the responsibility to do this while others disagree. In this essay, I shall discuss why I partly agree with this viewpoint that schools should be responsible for this. There are numerous compelling reasons why I agree with this view and the prominent one is that education plays a crucial role in shaping people’s behaviour in the future as a person’s overall development occurs in their childhood. Additionally, raising teenager’s awareness of the significance of being healthy at school enables them to develop some beneficial habits that will reward them later on in the future. For instance, a recent survey conducted in Japan has revealed that nearly 80% of individuals believe what had they learnt at their early stage of life have made meaningful contributions on their career. Therefore, these advantages have a profound impact on us. However, proper guidance from the parents is also significant for youngsters because parents are the first teacher of children’s life and their behaviour and mindset could have huge impacts on their children. Take myself for example, my parents like to jog after dinner every day to stay physically active and eat healthy food in order to obtain adequate nutrition and as a result, I have a healthy lifestyle because I was influenced by my parents. As can be seen, it is the parent’s responsibility to do this as well. To sum up, people’s opinion towards whose responsibility to teach children to take care of their health is various. Take everything into consideration, I partly agree that schools have the main duty to do this.