People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves Some people believe that it is responsibility of families to look after the elderly while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them

When it comes to festivals, they are considered to play a pivotal role in connecting us with our ‎backgrounds by preserving and promoting national, cultural, and religious identities. It is often argued ‎that people have forgotten the original meaning of festivals, and many treat them as opportunities to ‎have fun. While I partially agree with this assertion, in my opinion, there are still numerous festivals ‎that are meaningful to individuals. ‎ On the one hand, enjoyment is the primary goal for some people who celebrate specific festivals. ‎Since people participate in these events to merely have fun, they will be distracted by pleasant ‎moments and forget about the real purposes of these ancient rituals. On top of that, families do not ‎take any steps to transfer these cultural heritages to their descendants. Halloween could be an ideal ‎example here; many children do not know the origin of Halloween symbols like carved pumpkin or ‎trick or treating or even the meaning of its name. ‎ On the other hand, the underlying ideas of many celebrations have not been forgotten yet. That is to ‎say, youngsters still learn about religious or cultural festivals by parents or schools in detail. In other ‎words, the meaning of such ceremonies is so intertwined with the fabric of society that is hard to be ‎decimated over time. To cite an example, Nowruz, the most fabulous Persian celebration, which ‎begins at the exact moment of spring, is well-known, not even by Iranian, but also by other ‎nationalities. ‎ In conclusion, although there are some events that people mainly want to enjoy themselves during ‎them without knowing their value, from my perspective, most of society is still aware of reasons for ‎many festivals. ‎