Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In recent years, there has been a remarkable growth in tourism in remote places where the climatic conditions are harsh. Although, visiting to these places have many advantages, but there are also a few drawbacks. This essay will discuss both the points one by one. The first advantage of visiting these areas are people getting recognition in society. This is because, after they came from a visit, they upload these pictures in social media and thus, they get recognition from society. This will also help in building their self-confidence. Secondly, going for a trip to remote locations needs a fit and fine body. Therefore, people prepare themselves at least six months in advance for such trip, which result in maintaining the proper body mass index. Lastly, these trips make new and long lasting friends. For example, a result of a survey conducted by The Times magazine was that eighty percent of the people who went for hiking in Himalaya they are still in touch and also completed two more treks in just one year. On the contrary, the prime disadvantage for such treks are these places have lack of medical professional which result in permanent health issues. This is because, there are many incidents reported like ankle injury and cold burn during the Antarctic trip that need immediate medical attention. But due to lack of such facilities, those injured people had to discontinue their journey and sometimes lead to permanent damage to body parts. Secondly, these trips may be fatal for weak heart tourists. In an instance, there was a seventy percent death recorded among people who are above fifty years in 2019 who went to visit to the Arctic. Thirdly, some tourists do not handle such harsh weather and because of that they have to discontinue their journey. In conclusion, remote tourism may have many benefits and drawbacks. But one should always keep in mind to all the negatives and be prepared for the worst before leaving for such trips so that tourists can enjoy their lifetime experience.