Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

The question of what to prioritize for guiding school-age children in schools has been hotly debated over the last half century, with some believing that more focus should be paid to history rather than other subjects. While there are strong arguments on both sides of the discuss, I strongly agree that science and technology are of more great importance. One the one hand, those who support teaching historical information and events cite various benefits that the subject can bring to a child. These range from understanding the past to building up patriotism. If young teenagers were raised without knowing much about their homeland, they could end up at showing no respect or appreciation to their ancestors who had previously worked so hard or even fought bravely to protect their country from outside enemies. By giving lectures and teaching materials involved in what happened to a specific place, a teacher can assure positive attitudes toward a nation among his students, as well as encourage them to continue to protect their country. However, I tend to side with those who say that teaching students about scientific or technological matters is far better than showing them boring dates and past events. In this fast-growing world, the advance of technology has transformed the way that a man works and lives, from learning something new to paying the bills. If a pupil, for example, were not taught how to use a computer or access information through the Internet, I do believe that this kid would grow up with more disadvantages or even lack of opportunities to find a decent job, especially in today’s highly competitive employment market. Another argument for this viewpoint is that modern humans are suffering from tragic diseases like AIDS or cancer. Paying greater than ever attention to science and technology is in fact a security for the future of all human beings. In conclusion, I can understand the undeniable role of history in a child’s education, but it seems to me that science and technology are indeed more necessary in terms of job hunting or carrying out scientific researches.