Children from 7-11 now spend more time watching television and playing video games than before. What are the effects of this on children, families and society? What are the possible solutions to this problem?

In recent years, a number of small businesses, especially the high street ones, have been shut down. While it has been been contemplated by many individuals that it brings positive development in the society, others think they bring nothing but negative improvement. I do accord with the latter statement that losing these independent businesses may glean negative impact from the society and in this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons of this situation. First and foremost, competing with large enterprises is barely possible for a small shopowner. This is a problem because young and wary customers are often attracted to healthy and safe ambience, which is provided by gigantic business chains. For example, a local fried chicken restaurant cannot wrestle with a KFC franchise in terms of hygiene, quality, and staff behaviour. Therefore, when employees gets laid off from street shops, the impact directly affects on the society. Another problem is that this type of entrepreneurs usually do not receive investments, bank loans, or government support like other technology startups or city-based shops. That is to say, a large number of shops may gradually die over the course of few years because of their inability to experiment innovative product lines or expand their business reach. For instance, a lot of tourists are not often tempted to buy something from an artisan shop cause the shop might have been selling the same product for the last decade. Furthermore, people place their trust and confidence on famous brands, whereas the enterprise on the highway may not be in it's best position to spend money on marketing. To sum up, many road-based businesses cannot survive without any financial or government assistance and align well with the big corporation in the market. To lift this negative development, local authorities might need to step up by creating strict rules and making flexible loans to keep the tradition alive.