Some people propose that smoking should be banned completely instead of only in public areas. What is your opinion?

In certain parts of the world, governments have taken the initiative to prohibit smoking in public areas. Many people believe there should be a complete ban on smoking and this essay will cite the ways this habit has adversely affected the society. Smoking, otherwise known for its deleterious effects on health, contributes a significant burden on the budget of a country. Its consumption not only leads to numerous diseases in the active smoker, but doing so does not spare nearby people either. Numerous studies in renowned medical journals like The Lancet indicate that surprisingly a passive smoker is at twice the risk of developing a smoking-related disease compared with the active consumer. Furthermore, the patients acquiring these conditions, when admitted in government hospitals create major health care expenses. This phenomenon strains not only the budget of emerging economies, who have more pressing issues to focus on, but the affluent ones as well. In addition to the health concerns, a humongous quantity of litter is discarded in the environment in the form of cigarette butts. This fact can be appreciated by taking a stride across the city, where one would spot countless cigarette butts lining the roads and footpaths, even if it is a developed metropolis in question. Moreover, the impact of this litter is not just limited to the aesthetic aspects of an environment, but every year more wildfires are caused by smoker's debris than natural sources, an article in The Guardian quotes. Therefore, it is crucial that the public be made aware of these repercussions and the state be pressurised to ban smoking before it's too late. To conclude, smoking, in addition to being the source of significant financial strain on the economy; also leads to numerous harmful consequences for the environment. Hence in my opinion, it must be entirely banned by the government.