Some people say that it is not possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment.

Environmental sustainability is a very popular topic, especially in our days. While some people highlight the impossibility for a country to be economically favourable and have a clean environment at the same time, on the contrary in my opinion, a country can enjoy both benefits. On the one hand, according to some people, environmental damage is an inevitable condition for economic prosperity. An example in this regard may be economic dependence on fossil fuels or deforestation, through the release of greenhouse gases, have caused global climate change. A demonstration of this is given by the increase in profits for some companies, which represent an environmental and social threat. For instance, companies responsible for the disposable plastic pollution. They increase their economic gain by destroying the planet's wealth. On the other hand, I believe that if most industries adopted a zero waste lifestyle, there would surely be environmental advantages that would not affect the economic system. For example, an alternative that would limit environmental pollution and at the same time allow gain in economic terms, could be to avoid huge fuel consumption and drain electricity. Nowadays, in fact, the presence of electric cars has spread more and more. Furthermore, there are countries like Sweden, the Netherlands, which, thanks to eco-sustainable projects and policies, have implemented a series of environmental-friendly initiatives that have contributed to a significant increase in tourism. In conclusion, I think that having respect for the environment around us means having respect for our health and that of all living beings around us, so we should always adopt an eco-friendly lifestyle.