Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing.

There are those who appreciate routine and an orderly life whereas others relish the opportunities for variation and diversity. I do have an understanding of why some people dislike change, but my personal preference is for a degree of unpredictability and the opportunities to escape from my comfort zone. There are undoubted benefits of a degree of routine in our daily lives. A set structure may help us to be more productive and efficient. So, for example, allocating fixed periods of time for work and for relaxation will enable us to get more done whereas a flexible schedule may lead to the formation of bad habits. It could also be argued that a daily routine is better for our mental health. Knowing exactly what we will be doing and when, will reduce the potential for uncertainty and thus reduce our levels of stress. There are, however, a number of disadvantages to a life of routine devoid of any uncertainties. Because of a lack of change we risk becoming bored and we may find less creativity and inspiration in our lives. We need to face new challenges and have fresh goals and objectives otherwise we will not grow and fulfil our potential. The greatest artists, inventors and scientists have always been those who were willing to embrace the unfamiliar and explore the unknown. In conclusion, it may be of comfort to do the same things every day and some people are more efficient if they follow a fixed routine. However, the avoidance of new experiences will inevitably diminish us whereas embracing change enables us to reach our full potential.