Nowadays young people prefer to move in big cities, older people however, are the opposite And prefer to stay in the country side. What are the positives and negatives of this trend.

In the contemporary era, individuals of younger generation opt to live in urban areas due to the facilities available there. Where as, elderly prefer to live in rural places to follow their tradition. This essay tends to analyse pros and cons of this demographic shift. To begin with the bright side, young adults could possibly get better opportunities in the cities. If they are looking for a growth or a better pay scale in their respective job profiles, he or she would certainly achieve these goals once they migrate to urbanised locality. Moreover, if they further want to enhance their qualification, they can explore all the higher education institutions available there. To cite an example, a recent survey carried out by eminent historian Andrew James at Columbia University revealed that eighty percent of the Individuals who migrated to the cities, contributed sixty percent in the annual municipal corporation budget only because they took university education available in the city and eventually got a high salary job. Besides this, Individuals of older generation enjoys their cultural tradition in villages. By staying at their native place, not only they practice their traditional heritage on regular basis but also pass on these traditions to next generation. Since, they are living close to the nature, they remain healthy in fresh environment. On the contrary, there are some inevitable drawbacks associated. Youth might face difficulty in purchasing property in urban locality as the real estate rates are exorbitant. Since the prices are so high, If they want to purchase a house, only feasible option would be to apply for a home loan. Moreover, As they are away from their families and loved ones, this can lead to isolation and indeed has been one of the main reasons of depression. Furthermore, If the elderly are living in villages, they are probably away from any medical facilities such as hospitals, dispensaries due to which there is mushrooming growth in medical emergency deaths. In addition to this, they spend most of their lives away from all the latest technologies such as wifi and mobile network which makes their lives bit more challenging. All the above discussed assertions let to the conclusion that, young people moving to cities and elderly staying behind in villages would have both positive and negative effects. Steps should be taken by individuals of both the generations to minimise the drawbacks of the above said phenomenon.