Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Growing urbanisation has led to the lacking of space and thus a large number of people are opting to live in apartments. However, some people still prefer to live in a house. This essay explores the advantages and disadvantages of both these style of living before coming to a logical conclusion. Till a few decades back, living in individual houses was the most common norm. This was not only due to the fact that land was easily available but also due to the size of the family. The extended family lived and worked together. The house was generally accompanied by a large garden and ample space for the children to play. Even today, people living in houses prefer to do so because they value their privacy and need their own space. They also argue that they can build and design the house layout as per their convenience. However, living in a house comes with a high maintenance cost and extra effort. However, people living in an apartment does not have to spend much on maintenance. The maintenance is taken care of by society. There is a helpline number that you can call at any time of the day for any issue that you face. Besides, working parents also vouch for the safety of their children within such gated communities. The only discomfort faced by people living in apartments is the lack of privacy and space. The choice of living in a house or in an apartment depends on factors such as availability, rental costs and need and hence a particular style of living cannot be deemed to be the better than the other.