Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Nowadays, with growing population the real estate prices are sky-high in urban cities. However, many choose to live in house, while others finds, staying in an apartment more convenient. In my opinion, there are more drawbacks than benefits of staying in a house. In this essay, I will discuss both the sides. Although, the property cost is extremely high in urban cities, still people prefer to live in individual homes because they feel the privacy is worth the cost. To illustrate, a family would get a lawn or a garden with the detached house which will give more private space to the member than living in an apartment and share the garden space with hundreds of others. On the other hand, many people feel it is cost-effective to live in buildings' apartment, as the maintenance is shared with the other residents of the building. For example, the water bills and the property taxes will be divided between the member of the society, whereas, in an individual house the owner has to bare all the expenses. Hence, an individual with a moderate income, and financial background will choose to live in an flat. Another benefit of living in an condo is, security. While there are many people living in the building, the area will be crowded with people most of the time and the chances of anyone to attempt to do anything wrong will reduce. While near individual houses, the area will be less crowded and chances of crime could be high. For instance, the locality where there are more buildings, there is also a lot of people shopping in supermarkets, waiting at the bus station or walking around and the area is always lighted up. This is an important factor, concerning common people in deciding to choose between a house or apartment To summarise, in my opinion, the disadvantages outweighs the advantages of living in a house as its more costly and less secure than living in a building flat. And an average person will opt for apartment and not for a house.