Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so. Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

While some people believe that listening to music while studying is one of the best tools to ingrain all the material in your mind, others think that silence works better. They discussed that an environment surrounded by silence is the best option to memorize the syllabus. In my opinion, silence is the best option to choose when studying. First of all, a student being in a peaceful environment has the best chance to succeed. It is said that people who have been studying in a calm place are likely to obtain better results than compared with those who have not been under such conditions. When studying, our brain needs to focus on the subject without having any disturbances around. That is the reason why some students, who have some deficits in attention, receive better marks compared with those who do not have any problems when having nocturnal studies. Moreover, even calm musics affect our mind negatively. Our brain has two parts which process the received information. The right part, that is responsible to calculate the information, and the left, that assimilates it. Therefore, it is quite impossible to absorb the information when we are trying to study and listen to music, due to the fact that our brain only processes one piece of information at a time. Finally, always studying under silent conditions outdoes studying listening to music because we ought to have a fresh mind when doing the activity.