Some people prefer to be self employed, whereas others like working for companies or institutions. Which is a better approach.

In recent times, work culture has seen a dramatic change. Myriads of people have shifted from working for a company job to being self-employed. While the latter has plenty of benefits, the drawbacks that come along cannot be ignored. The rising trend of working as a freelancer is connected with flexibility in work. This is because unlike an office job, self-employed people are not restricted with company policies and regulations. This means they have complete freedom over all aspects of work such as working hours and deadlines. For instance, for a two-day task, one may not work for the first day at all and complete everything the second day. Alternatively, in a controlled office environment, employees are required to work daily or for a specified period. On the other hand, being self-employed comes with increased responsibilities. An organization has a systematic hierarchy and work is divided accordingly. However, if one decides to work for oneself, all obligations fall into shoulders of a single person. This often results in stress and anxiety. For example, in a software company, providing good customer care is as prominent as developing a new software. A self-employed person must be able to regulate both these daunting tasks all by themselves. As a result, many a times individuals bite off more than they could chew. To sum up, although being self-employed provides elastic working environments. The fact that an individual need to be in charge of all the aspects of work should be considered as well. I believe freedom in work outweighs all disadvantages.