Some people like to do only what they already do well. Other people prefer to try new things and take risks. Which one do you prefer?

Since the ancient times, there have been many examples of men who tread a different course of action and come up with great inventions as a result. Broadly speaking, there are two types of people, one, who prefer to take risks and try and build new things, another, who do what they do best and are content with the regular results. I prefer the first type and always aspire to learn and build new things. Although there is substantial risk involved many a time but with the risk taken, you get rewarding returns too. In today's world where there is an ocean of information available at our fingertips, it helps me to keep updated with the changing world. We are exposed to different worlds and cultures and the fresh and bright things happening around the world. This motivates me to feed my hunger to know and learn more. The Internet has also bridged the distance for education and now it’s easy to get tutored by best teachers using the technology. The Technology has also created many opportunities by increasing the awareness in the people. For instance, I was doing well in an Investment bank but was always intrigued by the Payments industry specifically the digital wallet space. I took a risk a year back and changed my career path towards Digital wallet industry. I am learning new things every day and enjoying my work to the fullest. To look at it from a different perspective, without taking the risk, we would not know what is lying beyond. There can be a rainbow of possibilities which might open up only if we take the first step towards it. This doesn’t mean that you would be successful on your first attempt and thus demands consistent pursuit. To supplement this with an example, a friend of mine was stagnant in his career and was unhappy with his monotonous job. With the advice of friends he took risks and ventured into a new business. He realised that he was doing very good and took the business as a full-time career. Thus, according to me trying new things and taking calculated risks is beneficial. To summarise, I believe that we are in this world to create and transform things from its present state. While trying new things sharpens my creativity, it also teaches me qualities like hard work, perseverance, builds my risk appetite and above all keeps my mind active. I recommend promoting the culture of innovation so that we all can reap the rewards of technology development.