Some people like to cook their meal at home. Other prefer to eat at restaurant or cafeteria. What do you prefer?

Is gender affecting the choice of the courses that students choose for their higher education in schools and universities. It is commonly said that girls prefer art subjects, whereas boys choose science. This essay intended to analyse the reasons and the changing trends about it. One main reason for graduates to select subjects according to gender is carrier interests. The existing social stratification classifieds various professions according to sex of individuals; less physically demanding jobs for females while risky and physically challenging works for males. In other words, the majority of females choose teaching as their carrier path rather than technical jobs, which requires physical strength and science knowledge. As a result girls prefer art subjects like literature, politics or history; however, boys tend to select challenging subjects such as marine, automobile and aeronautical science because they are ready to face adventures in their professional life. For instance, a study conducted by the queen's university found that only 5 percent of men opted to teach as their carrier in 2000 in London. In my opinion the current trends of gender discrimination in all fields are significantly reduced while compared with the past 5 decades. The choice of subjects in the field of secondary and tertiary education has changed a lot in these years, most of the students consider their interests rather than common trends. Many women shown their talents in male dominated carriers and wise versa. For example, Neha Uddhav, the first female pilot in the Indian air force, became as an inspiration for many young ladies in India. In conclusion, huge numbers of females choose arts subjects and their male counterparts prefer science subjects instead. The main reason for this is social stratification of carrier choices; in addition, this trend has been changing recently due to student's interests in choosing subjects.