Some people get into debts by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is thought by many that products nowadays are being sold because of the powerful advertisings that are held. However, these sold goods do not reflect the need of society. This essay agrees with this concept due to high marketing budgets spent and the emergence of e-marketing. The amount of money spent on marketing for a product is very high compared to how much this product is needed by the consumer. Loads of cash are used to persuade potential customers to buy a product using the effect of celebrity endorsements. This strategy is convincing and the consumers always fall for it. For example, Nike has spent more than 2 million dollars to market hideous shoes partnering with Miley Cyrus which led the sales to skyrocket. On the other hand, the rise of the e-marketing has made the whole advertising easier and more accessible. Nowadays, companies can reach every client through the internet through their account on social media as those sites keep records of each registered person's interests. Therefore, these marketing strategies have been more effective than the usual advertising methods. For example, once I searched for a car to rent and by the time I was finished, my Facebook account was filled with ads of rental car companies. In conclusion, people these days buy goods based on who and what influenced them through advertising and not by how much they need them due to the abundant amount of money spent on marketing and the easy access to all potential consumers through internet ads.