Indviduals can do nothing to improve the environment only the goverment and large companies can make a difference,

Fast food has become increasingly popular in different parts of the world. Consequently, a vast number of people are suffering from health issues such as obesity. It is no doubt that the public authorities should take an immediate action to this problem. For instance, while others might suggest imposing higher tax rates, I strongly disagree for several purposes which will be argued about in this essay. We cannot turn a blind eye on the hazardous effects of the consumption of this food. Heart problems and other diseases have spread due to eating a plethora of these meals. Taxing them heavily will increase the governments' revenue. As a result, it will be able to spend more on healthcare facilities, which will improve the overall health conditions. Although critics argue about the dangers of junk food, raising the taxes might not be a preferred solution. This kind of food is well known for being relatively cheap, which means that it is affordable for people of different levels. If tax rates are increased, final prices will be highly expensive. Indeed, this might increase the poverty rate. Furthermore, it is worth noting that convenience food is demand inelastic. In other words, consumers would still purchase it in spite of the rise in prices, therefore, the goal of reducing the consumption will not be met. To conclude, a higher tax rate is definitely not the best choice for the various reasons which were previously discussed in this essay. From my own perspective, I recommend using other methods to discourage the purchase of such food. For example, awareness campaigns would be more effective.