Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, it is common to hear this person goes bankruptcy and that person is in debt for buying things they do not really need and cannot afford. This is indeed a worrying scenario to a developing country. When a person finds he or she could not afford to repay the debts, the last resort for he or she is to commit suicide. In this essay, I would discuss the reasons why people often buy goods they do not need or unaffordable and touch on the measures that can be taken to prevent people from having this problem. Firstly, people purchase goods they could not afford is because of their desire of ownership. For instance, office ladies often think that the ownership of a luxury product such as handbag represent the status of the owner. Thus, it is common to find a lady works as a manager to bring a Louis Vuitton (LV) bag or Prada bag to go to work. All these branded goods cost thousands of dollars to the buyers yet there are still people who are very fascinated to own the luxury goods. The other example is the desire of people to own the Apple products such as the latest model, Iphone 6S Plus and the MacBook. It is surprising to know that people will queue in front of the Apple shop during the midnight in order to purchase the newly launched product. Secondly, people purchase things using credit cards, this causes them to buy things first and pay later. This is not a healthy trend as it shows people have poor financial planning skills. As many banks are now approving credit cards to low-income households, people do not realize how much they have spent on purchasing goods until they receive the bank statements. This is why many people get into debt as they do not plan on their daily purchase. Besides, the roadshow of the banks attracts low-income families to get a credit card by convincing them this card is convenient as they do not have to bring bulks of cash to supermarket to buy groceries. To deal with this behaviour, I personally think that education is very important especially to the children. Parents and teachers should play their roles to educate the children that a show-off behaviour will lead a person to go into bankruptcy and tell them the impacts that could be brought by bankruptcy. In addition, schools should provide lessons to the children on personal financial planning. They should be taught to begin saving since young. To sum up, I think people should think properly before buying a good. They should plan their daily expenditure to avoid over budget. It is important to save a portion of the monthly income in the banks to deal with any emergency that may happen.