Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? ”

It is true that some individuals are in debt because they buy unneedful things that they can not afford. The main cause of this problem is that banks encourage people to take loans over their spending limit and the most viable solution is that governments should implement laws to restrict people from taking loans. The principle reason why few individuals are in debt is that banks entice people into taking credit cards and loans by offering them attractive interest rates. Major banks and lending corporations constantly make cold calls to prospective clients and offer them loans and credit limits without checking if these customers are able to pay back their borrowed money. Consequently, these people sign up for these facilities to buy various luxurious items over their financial limit and end up in bankruptcy. For example, in 2007, the economic crisis in the United States led to a lot of people applying for bankruptcy because they were unable to pay back their bank loans due to their overspending. To tackle this predicament, governments should offer some protection to these people by passing laws to deter people from taking loans. By implementing laws that allow loans to be granted based on salaries, people would only be allowed to apply for loans that they could repay back. As a result, these individuals will more careful while spending their money. For instance, similar initiatives were carried out in Japan where people were allowed to apply for loans based on the percentage of their salaries, and the bankruptcy rate has declined in the country since then. In conclusion, some individuals are in debt for buying unaffordable things because banks offer them loans and other financial assistance, which they can not pay back, and governments should pass laws to deter people from taking loans by restricting their credit limit.