Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects.

Since parents wish the best instruction for their children, it has been debated whether physical activities should be part of the school educational program. Some people support gym classes considering the benefits of physical activities on body and mind, whereas others believe that the time for academic subjects should not be sacrified. In this essay the role of physical education in the course of study will be discussed. There are many arguments in favour of the inclusion of physical education in the school curricola. Firstly, gym classes may have health benefits, especially in western countries where the diffusion of video-games and smart phone have encouraged sedentary lifestyle and obesity. Secondly, body exercise has been shown in studies to improve academic performance. Lastly, in the context of big cities where there are fewer and fewer places for children to play safely outside, schools offer guarded space to practice physical activities. When it comes to arguments against physical education, many people believe that parents should make sure that children get enough exercise, not schools. In addition, having more hours of academic subject would increase the possibility to enter into a good university and consequently to get a high-paying job in the future. Furthermore, modern societies need more engineers, scientists and teachers of core subjects than athletes. In summary, both sides seem to have sound arguments. However, I am of the opinion that physical education is an essential part of school educational program as it is proven to improve both health and intellectual activities.