Some people get into debt by buying things that they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour. What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In this contemporary world, newer and advanced gadgets come on the market everyday. While some individuals are greatly influenced by those materialistic things that they purchase such devices despite of no use, and sometime they even take debt to buy those items. This essay will examine the reasons behind this rising trend which includes the influence of the adverts as well as the measures that can be taken to tackle this issue. The major cause of the increasing consumerism is the greater impact of the advertisements on the mindset of people. Since in the modern era, there is a stiff competition among the manufacturers, therefore to endorse the sale of their products, they present their products in an attractive manner, which in turn, leads to the consumerism where people buy those expensive items in spite of being useless. In India, for instance, children and housewives are most vulnerable to these advertising companies, so these ads mostly target them. To elucidate, advertisements should be held responsible for this consumerist society which compels the people to buy such items which are not affordable. The solutions to prevent the community from getting into debt are not simple. First of all, the government should impose restrictions on the ads' companies and must make some rules and regulations so that these firms would show authentic information about their products and those who convey wrong knowledge to the customers must be punished. In several countries, for example, customers can go to the consumer court and they can file complaint against the manufacturer in case of any fault and misinformation. Henceforth, the authorities should issue guidelines for the advertising company and make strategies to protect the rights of the customers. In conclusion, although the problem has taken an immense place in the community and further forcing individuals to borrow money from their relatives and friends. This is mainly due to growing ads, but effective methods to overcome this should be taken by the government to regulate their activity.