Some people feel unsafe when they are in public and at home. What are the possible causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

A number of people sense that they are threatened while they are on the streets or at their homes. In this essay I will discuss the reasons of this continuous feeling of some society members, and then I will propose some mitigation measures for this phenomenon. To begin with, we have to establish that the main problem which we are discussing is not the actual level of threat, but the perception of unsafety in some people’s minds. Hence, the principal reason for this problem is the information that these people get. Consequently, I think that the media is responsible for this phenomenon, as it is the main distributor of information. For example, when people spend a significant time watching assault programs on television they will get the feeling that being attacked at your home or in public is something probable. To solve this problem, I think that governments should guide media companies to emphasize on good news as much as they point out the bad news. This might give people a better perception of the society that they are living amongst. However, the excessive feeling of safety might cause people to lose their guards. Thus, the suitable mitigation measure should be a balanced information system that points out the pleasant and the unpleasant in a certain country. In conclusion, the perception of unsafety is a real problem caused by emphasizing on dreadful information by the media. This can be mitigated by balancing information through pointing out some pleasant news. I think that, if media reflects the behavior of society honestly, by showing the virtuous and the vicious, people will perceive threat more realistically.