Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. is this a positive or negative development.

There has been an increase in unhealthy lifestyle globally. Recently, educational institutions have imbibed the habit of serving meals that are not healthy for her students. This essay will argue that this is a negative development and give reasons why this is so. In my opinion, schools serving unhealthy food to her students is not a positive trend. In recent times, the world has experienced a rise in diseases of affluence such as heart disease and obesity, which are caused by drinks with high sugar content and foods with high unsaturated fats. These illnesses are caused by not living a healthy lifestyle and this includes the food we eat. A study carried out at Harvard revealed that, in the next 10 years, teenagers and kids will be at risk for these illnesses. Hence, this is the time to watch and monitor the eating habits of children, rather than feed them with junks. In addition, the school is supposed to be a safe haven because kids cling to the habits and principles they learn in school. In times like this where there are no policies, rules or regulations by the government about good living, it is expected that the institutes in the society take up the mantle and lead kids alright, and not lead them astray by encouraging unhealthy eating. If we Are to curb the diseases of affluence epidemic, the schools should be our starting point. For instance, a reduction in heart diseases was observed in Australia in the last decade after the government implemented a "healthy food only" policy in the institutions nationwide. Therefore, it is quite essential that we get it right in our schools. In conclusion, many schools sell unhealthy meals to their students. This essay argued that this trend is not a healthy one.