Some people feel that children should be educated in single sex schools rather than mixed school

Many people hold the view that attending single-sex schools is better for students of both genders. However, from my perspective, co-education offers extraordinary benefits to students and school systems, including better behavior and higher standard of academic achievement. First of all, it is clear that educating the sexes together allow students to improve their behavior in the society. The presence of girls usually leads to better demeanor among boys who would otherwise become more arrogant, crude and are more likely to have juvenile delinquency if they studied in all-male atmosphere. Teenage girls mature faster than their male counterparts and so are good influences on them. On the other hand, a female-only space can create an atmosphere of high pressure with more issues such as eating disorders and self-harming reported. It seems that the presence of boys reduces some of this pressure. Secondly, with multi-gender learning environment, students stand a golden chance of boosting their academic performance. A classroom environment is enriched by diversity and the different views that boys and girls bring, leading to a more well-rounded education. In fact, boys tend to be more creative and clever but their carelessness are non-negligible, and girls are prone to be meticulous but less inventive and sometimes receive insufficient attention in scientific fields; thus, complementation between them is apparent. In addition, living in mixed schools give them a better chance to learn more from other’s strong points and views, which may broaden their horizon in a particular subject. Some opponents of co-education may argue that mixed school is not good for students because of a number of reasons. They claim that in mixed school, girls may be less likely to be confident and to speak up in class as they do not want to appear clever in front of the boys. While this is true, it is undeniable that in every learning environment, there still be unconfident students. Others claim that the teenage pregnancy rate is increasing in co-educational schools. However, this can be avoided if schools offer more sex education classes to raise students’ awareness. From what has been discussed above, we may draw the conclusion that multi-gender learning environment brings students a range of advantages. Specifically, it can help students improve their behavior and academic performance.