In many parts of the world girls and boys are educated together in co-educational or mixed schools. Some people think that girls and boys benefit from being educated separately in single-sex schools.

It is sometimes argued that both male and female students will be taken advantage when they are trained in a single-sex school. While I agree with this assertion, I do not believe that dividing into two types of school is an effective way for children. On the one hand, mixed schools can draw negative impacts on the educational system. Firstly, male chauvinism albeit is being against fiercely, this conception still exist in some public schools. For example, when hosting sports events, some kind of sports like football or basketball is only for boys. Therefore, female undergraduates are likely to be limited in some aspects at school if they study with male counterparts. Secondly, by separating two types of school, students will only concentrate on their study instead of falling head over heels in love. For instance, in my secondary school, a girl who is only in grade eight aborting twice, and she had to stop her studying. As a result, students in single-sex schools are able to perform better in academics because they are not conscious of themselves and are less distracted. On the other hand, coed education also offers a great array of positive sides for both genders. One benefit is that they can share different ideas together because studies claim that boys differ from girls. For example, boys are said to be better than girls when it comes to Math while females are better in communications skills and Language than males, so mixed schools give them chances to support their strengths to their partners. Another benefit is that co-educational schools can promote socialization since they are used to talk and interact with the opposite sex daily. This can help them not to find it hard to deal with different kind of people in the future. In conclusion, while I agree that single-sex schools bring a wide range of benefits for school children, I believe wholeheartedly that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.