Some people feel that certain workers like nurses, doctors and teachers are undervalued and should be paid more, especially when other people like film actors or company bosses are paid huge sums of money that are out of proportion to the importance of the work that they do. How far do you agree? What criteria should be used to decide how much people are paid?

Some people believe that workers belonging to the category of movie actors or corporate heads are valued more and paid salaries which are much more than the salaries paid out to other workers such as nurses, doctors and teachers, even though these people are involved in the much more important work. I completely agree with the above mentioned statement and believe that the salary of any worker should be calculated basis how important is their work for the survival of human beings. To start with, workers such as doctors, nurses and teachers receive much less salary than corporate heads or film actors. For example, the average salary of a teacher in India is INR 10 lakh whereas the average salary of a Chief Executive Officer is INR 1 crore. This huge discrepancy in salary is due to the fact that the work of movie actors or corporate management is valued much more by the society than teachers, nurses and doctors even though these workers are much more important for the survival of human beings as compared to movie actors or coporate heads. One of the possible solution to the above problem is to decide the salary of a worker basis how important their work is for the survival of human beings. For example, doctors and nurses are clearly extremely important for survival of human beings since they help in making human being fitter and better. Similarly, teachers help in developing the future of the human race, which is an extremely important profession. In comparison to these workers, the work of movie actors and corporate heads is less important for the survival of human beings. To conclude, I completely agree that workers such as doctors, teachers and nurses are valued less by the society as compared to film actors or corporate heads since these workers are paid salaries which are much less than the salaries paid out to famous people or corporate executives. A plausible solution to the above mentioned problem can be linking the salary of a professional to the importance of that profession towards the survival of human beings. This will not only help in improving the salaries paid out to doctors, nurses and teachers but will also result in better value being provided by society.