Some people claim that tourism can help to bridge cultural gaps between peoples of different nationalities and cultures.

There has been always a debate on whether international travel can resolve cultural differences between people or not. Although I acknowledge that tourism offers foreign and indigenous people cross-cultural interactions, I believe it to be not really effective in bridging cultural gaps. Firstly, cultural barriers cannot be completely removed within a vacation trip because of the shortage of time. That is, a trip often takes place for 2-3 weeks, and it is impossible for any people to have a deeper understanding about the host country in such a short span of time. Even if they only scratch the surface of the cultures, they need to stay in a place for a couple of days, which rarely occurs as almost trippers want to pay visits to as many landscapes as possible. Secondly, cultural identity might end up disappearing under the influence of tourists' demands. On building travel experiences, a lot of international tourists ask for services that are unrelated to indigenous culture. Sadly, however, many locals have no hesitation to meet their requirements immediately and make a huge profit from these services. As a result, such actions make cultural identity fade away. In Sapa, for example, there have been a number of European restaurants and cafes opened with the aim of satisfying travellers's tastes. Likewise, one of the most popular jobs here is working as a porter and carrying bags for tourists as traditional crafts like doing handicrafts are less profitable. Gradually, in view of tourists' needs, traditional jobs or cultural identity will be superseded by non-indigenous ones. Another point to be considered is tourism might cause damage to tangible cultural heritages and tourist attractions. Let me adduce a proof, in the Temple of Literature in Ha Noi, tourists used to rub stone turtles' heads in the hope of sticking lucky, as a consequence, the stone heads are wearing away. This example, along with other problems such as littering, is typical for bad physical impacts of travel on cultural heritages. To sum up, I think that tourism is not very productive in bridging up cultural gaps due to the shortage of times and some ill-effects it has on things of cultures.