Topic: It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

It is true that history plays an important role in the school curriculum. While I agree that students should be taught local history, I also believe that it is necessary for them to learn world history. On the one hand, there are several reasons why children reap enormous benefits of learning local history. Firstly, local history provides identity for children. This means that students know their roots and development of their country throughout history lessons. Learning local history affords children opportunity to know who they are, where they come from, why they are different from other groups of people and values passed on from generations to generations. Secondly, history lessons instill patriotism into children. When students are taught about events that happened in their country in the past, they are likely to know devotions and sacrifices from ancestors to fight intruders. In this way, schoolchildren can pay homage to previous generations and feel love for their country. On the other hand, it is wrong to reject the argument in favor of learning world history. The reason is that world history lessons helps students knowledgeable and tolerant. Throughout world history lessons, children learn things and events that happened outside their country’s border, such as the suffering of black people in the slave trade. Schoolchildren can have different perspectives, thus contributes to a well-round education. In addition, world history helps students to have a deeper insight into the country’s history. As major events happened in the world in conjunction with one another, a change in one country could effect change in other countries. In this way, children are likely to understand more about their country. In conclusion, it is ludicrous to compare local history with world history because they are equally important.