Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

The practice of home recycling is inadequate. Some people believe that government should impose legal actions about waste management. In this essay, I will provide reasons and examples why laws should be implemented to increase recycling rate. Waste disposal is a very common problem around the globe. Some people don’t have enough knowledge about waste management which includes segregation and recycling. For example, in some remote areas, people don’t know how to recognize biodegradable from a non biodegradable materials which results to mixed up of waste products. Furthermore, some do not know that you can save money by recycling things. That is why the government should provide laws and programs about waste management to let people know the benefits that they can get from it. Another reason is stubbornness. Human beings will not bother to segregate their waste unless a legal law is implemented. For instance, the government of Singapore imposed a law about proper waste disposal and waste management. Singaporeans started to recycle and segregate their waste and in a short span of time their country has been considered as one of the cleanest countries in the world. Through implementation of a law and giving a sanction to any person who violate it, humans will surely abide on it. In my conclusion, a law is very important to discipline and teach people to recycle and segregate their waste materials. However, programs and hands- on trainings must also be implemented to educate people about the importance of recycling and proper waste management.