Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

It is said by many, that the garbage produced by households is not recycled in a proper amount, therefore, it is argued, that by making it mandatory by law, this situation would improve. In this essay, I will explain why I believe that the government should take legal measures to ensure the recycling of waste in every house. Laws make things happen, it has been proven that people do not just do things correctly by nature and consequently there is not enough willpower or desire to help the Planet by recycling. On the other hand, if fines were applied to citizens that did not recycle, there would be much more people caring for this. In addition, making this a legal requirement, would make the system work as there would be not only specific buckets to put paper, plastic, organic waste and glass, but also the different types of waste would be sent to specific places to be treated and returned to society in diverse products such as fertilizers. Conversely, others believe that there is another strategy to make people recycle more, such as more environmental education at schools. Nevertheless, education is definitely not enough to make the society most considerate of the damage that the garbage produces. Take, for instance, nowadays streets are full of papers and plastic bags thrown by men and women daily. Evidently, people do not mind and laws are needed to make everybody aware of contamination and its solution. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people need laws to behave correctly and to make things really happen. Therefore, the government is responsible for introducing these measures and making the society follow the rules to make a better place for everyone.