Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

It is true that the waste of residential areas in the waste is not recycled adequately so some people believe that governments should impose policies or rules to recycle more rubbish. I completely agree with sitting legal rules for recycling. There are a variety reasons why people should recycle their waste. First and foremost, recycling can help to reduce environmental pollution; the more the waste is recycled, the less pollution will be produced. Take slums in some cities which are more contaminated than other parts of a city. For example, it is often seen that slum's residents throw their litter around their homes, so slums usually are messier. Releasing the waste and rubbish on the ground also causes that trees cannot absorb water and nutrients, and even the leachate of waste will penetrate into the depths of the Earth and pollute underground water sources which humans use them as drinking water. On top of that, some sorts of the waste such as plastic and glass cannot decompose in the nature and will remain for many years, which are dangerous for animals and birds, mainly because they eat this trash as a food. However, the participation of a minority of people in recycling alone is not likely to decrease the volume of the waste because not all residents are willing to take part in such a method. So if governments introduce some legal rules, then it can be expected that most of the waste will be recycled. For example, preparing separated bins for different kinds of waste in each neighbourhood and obligate dwellers to separate their rubbish. Not only will this good way reduce garbage, but it also has Financial benefits for some poor people such as scavengers who make a living by collecting and selling recycled rubbish to recycling factories. In conclusion, it seems to me that governments can create a sense of responsibility among people by imposing legal obligations to recycle their waste more. With these rules people will feel a sense of duty.