Some people say that school children should be mainly taught about the literature (e. g fiction and poetry) of their own country because it is more important than that of other countries.

It is believed by some people that schools should exclusively teach children about the literature of their own country instead of other countries. Despite its importance, I completely disagree with this opinion as children should be taught about a variety of literatures from all around the world. Teaching children about their local literature such as fiction, poetry, mythology, and history has huge benefits. It helps students connect with their past and understand their culture better, therefore leading to a sense of belonging to one’s own country. Furthermore, a knowledge of one’s own literature is fundamental to personal development. For instance, when these children grow into adults and mix with people from different cultures, they have the ability to talk about their country’s rich literature easily and meticulously. On the other hand, schools should not neglect teaching children about foreign literature due to many reasons. Firstly, many students may not be interested in their country’s literature and instead want to know more about other countries. For instance, an Arabic student who does not enjoy reading Arabic poetry and is interested in English or French poetry instead. Limiting such students to learning about their country’s literature only would force them to spend their leisure time reading books about other literatures that they are interested in. Secondly, a knowledge of foreign literature is essential for every adult nowadays. Since there is a high chance that individuals will meet foreign people either during their work, travel or even on the internet, a knowledge of foreign literature is enormously beneficial in this case and would make communication easier. In conclusion, although teaching children about their country’s literature has its advantages, it should not be taught exclusively and there ought to be a balance between local and foreign literatures taught in schools.