Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, due to the enormous population in the world, the recycling domestic wastes turns to be one of the most important issue which has a significant role in protecting the environment. Some people declare that defining the recycling as a law by the government is the only way to increase the domestic waste resumption. As far as I am concerned, this step could be beneficial, but it would have positive and negative consequences that they will be outlined in the following paragraphs. To begin with, most people try to obey all regulations in the society which are created by the government. When the recycling is defined as a law, they would take that as a necessary requirement and so they recycle more of their waste. Apart from this, the government should provide all facilities that are required for this law such as equipment's recycling process. Secondly, legislating a subject as a legal requirement by the government might have some disadvantages. For instance, the people instinctively would prefer to do whatever they want based on their own choice and freedom, so sometimes forcing them to conform a law can have a reverse result. In fact, trying to make them more aware of the recycling importance by different ways such as TV, media or education could be more efficient than enforcing them by a law. In conclusion, although the resumption as a legal requirement can have both profits and drawbacks, overall, it increases the recycling household waste and so it could be a practical measure to take by the government to tackle the waste problem in the society.