Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is argued by some that at tertiary level students should be allowed to choose subjects as per their interest. Meanwhile, others believe that undergraduates should be restricted to opt for those subjects which will help them to get a good job in the future such as science and technology. In my opinion, people should be allowed to select the subjects as per their liking in order to excel well in that particular field. On the one hand, it is often believed that in educational institutes, youngsters should be given the option to study those subjects according to their nature. To elaborate, if students are allowed to study as per their interest, they will tend to grasp that knowledge quickly owing to their fondness in that particular field. For instance, recent research done by Tim Hopkins, a renowned American psychologist revealed that people who study those subjects which they admire and then pursue their career in the same field are progressing exceptionally well. Thus, considering the likeness of students while selecting the field of study is playing a vital role in preparing a productive workforce for society and the wellbeing of those professionals also. On the other hand, some people think that educational administration should restrict students to select only those subjects which are in-demand in the job market. In other words, as science and technology is the most popular field in terms of getting high paid salaries, so students are pressurized from family and tutors to opt for science subjects rather than arts in order to get a six-digit salary. If people choose a field forcefully, might be they will get a job with handsome salary but they will never enjoy working there owing to lack of interest and eventually they will quit. In conclusion, from my perspective, students should have the privilege to choose subjects in accordance to their nature rather than to adopt a subject only due to social pressure and restrictions.