Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while others argue that it is wrong.

It is argued by many that the use of animals for the purpose of medical inquiry for the betterment of human being is right while others believe it is unacceptable. In my opinion, while I believe the usage of animals for medical investigation is a good idea because it saves humans from being treated in a barbaric manner for medical purposes, I also agree that it is detrimental to the existence of the subject animals. Humans have been used in the past for several medical inquiry projects that are seen to be inhumane as they caused permanent damage to their lives. Because of this, it is better to explore animals for medical researches. Furthermore, the adoption of animals for exploration will help scientist to accurately develop vaccines and medicines without causing great harm to the subject animals unlike humans. For instance, ananalysis for the cure of syphilis was conducted on 400 men and women, 200 were infected with the virus without their consent so as to monitor the progression of the disease and they were left untreated. The prolonged presence of the disease led to permanent loss of sight and deafness in the 200 persons. As a result of this probe, medical personnels began testing drugs and vaccines on animals in the bid to curb the barbaric act on human lives. However, using some certain animals for medical exploration has been found to be detrimental to their existence as it could lead to the extinction of such species. For example, the US bio-research program showed that specific animals whose species are rare and have been used for medical research that causes gene mutations are now unable to procreate. This development would lead to extinction once the remaining breed dies. In my opinion, it is therefore advisable that animal species that are abundant should be used for research. In conclusion, although the need of animals for medical investigation is harmful to their being, I am of the opinion that animals of bountiful species should be used for research purposes