Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

There are people who decide to quit meat and fish consumption because they think that this decision is good for their bodies, and also hope to take care of the planet that way. In my opinion, I admire that they want to do something beneficial for them and for the world. However, I do not believe eating no meat at all is a good choice. It is well documented that large herds of cows increase the production of CO2, which is a greenhouse gas. If people keep consuming beef frequently, the demand of the latter rises and more CO2 is produced, causing damage to the atmosphere. Also, some habitats are destroyed to make room for kettles. So eating less beef helps the environment, to a certain extend. Regarding health, red meat specifically, has been demonstrated to be a cause of cancer. However, most researchers recommend only decreasing red meat consumption, rather than stop eating any kind of meat completely. Furthermore, people suffering health conditions such as hearth and intestinal disease, are told to eat less red meat, although, they are encouraged to eat more fish and chicken instead. It is a fact that people need to consume protein, and the main source of protein is meat. And proteins coming from plants and vegetables are not enough for humans. Moreover, there are other nutrients such as vitamin B12, essential for the nervous system, which is mainly obtained from meat. Even though some persons prefer to stop eating any kind of meat for their own benefit and for the world’s sake, I believe that it is not the best idea. In my view, the key is to be moderate on meat and fish consumption.