Some people choose jobs that are easy to find. Others choose jobs that they are interested in. Which opinion do you agree with? Explain why.

In recent years, closing hours for stores has become debatable. In some nations, these stores open for longer hours everyday mainly because of the higher demand for goods and services. This has resulted in both benefits, as well as, drawbacks not only on the individuals of the society, but, also the neighborhoods. This essay will discuss, the major pro which is provision of job opportunities and also, the major con, which is increase crime rates. The main advantage is the provision of jobs. In other words, increase opening hours results in increase manual labor, thereby, increasing job availability for members of the society, which in turn increases the economy of the nation. Take for instance, the 2017 article, by the Global Union, about the famous 7/11 supermarket, which stated that approximately 200-300 thousand jobs were provided yearly by this store. This mainly occurred, because the store operated for 24 hours a day every week, thereby, needing more individuals to cover more shifts without overworking the staffs. Thus, resulting in major job opportunities for individuals with little or no experience. However, there are also demerits to longer operating systems. One of such is, increase criminal activities. This implies that, shops that open for more than 12 hours are two times more likely to be burglarized than stores that open for less than 12 hours. According to a research carried out, in 2017, by the People’s magazine, crime rates in Alabama, raised to about 22% after more supermarkets were converted to 24 hours every day. Hence, increasing criminal activities within local neighborhoods. In conclusion, there are many merits to opening stores for more hours, but the most important is, the provision of jobs within the country. There are also major demerits such as, increase crime rates.