Some people believe world poverty can be solved by the governments of rich countries giving large amounts of money to the governments of poor countries.

It is generally believed that by providing aid to poor countries, the rich countries could solve one of the most critical issues which is the world poverty. While it would partly help improve the situation, I do not agree that the poverty can be solved completely just by giving large amounts of money. First of all, by doing so, the governments has already forgotten the fundamental, underlying causes of poverty, which are based entirely on the policies and regulations themselves. In fact, this can only be served as a temporary solution and does not necessarily bring any long-term benefits or impacts to the current poverty situation. If governments of poor countries insisted on having no reinforcements on their regulations, consequently, there would be no improvements in the economy, hunger and poverty would still remain. The government agencies themselves have to play crucial roles in improving the current situations. Second, if governments from poor countries continuously receive financial aid from the more developed ones, it will eventually give them a sense of reliance. In other words, they might have to constantly depend on the help of other countries and cannot take control over the situation. Greece debt crisis is a famously known example in this case. Back in the days, Greece used to to carry too much debt, to the point where the government had to declare bankruptcy. As a part of the Eurozone, they are forced to seek out the help from other EU countries for several bailouts in order to pay the debt. However, Greece still remained a poor country compared to other members of the Eurozone and has not been able to recover their economy since. In conclusion, while it might be a fairly good approach to fund poor countries to reduce poverty, it would require more efforts, especially on the poor countries side, to completely erase hunger and improve their economies.