some people believe the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between poor and rich people. Others think it is having the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technological advancements in every field have led overall development of world. Many think that these advances are widening the gap between upper class and lower class whereas others believe that it has reduced the difference between the rich and the poor people. I personally feel that technology has diminished the gap between people of varying standards. Those who are of the view that new technology is increasing the gap say that advance gadgets are available in the market at high rates. These products, therefore, are out of reach of the middle or the lower-class people. Products like iphone, ipad for instance, are of high value and hence majorly rich people can buy it. This way rich are able to afford all luxuries of life contrary to poor. This broadens the margin between two classes. For others, researches and inventions in technology have decreased the gap by making variety of things available for common people at low prices. Indeed, due to strong competition among the companies products at cheap rates are readily available. Computers for example, were very costly and impossible to purchase for poor 50 years ago, but now the price of computer has dropped drastically due to the developments. As a result, it has become possible for common man to afford these products. This has ultimately helped in shrinking the spectrum. In conclusion, although highly advanced luxury products have increased but at the same time technology has resulted in mass production of products and items at very low cost which are affordable equally by upper and lower class. This obviously has made different classes of people closer to each other.