Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Traffic congestion has become a serious problem for all the countries especially the developing ones. According to some people, government should increase the number of trains and subway lines while the opponents think that construction of new roads and widening the existing ones will more beneficial in order to reduce traffic problems. This essay will discuss both the strategies ensuring reduction in traffic levels, thereby arrive at conclusion. Admittedly, extension and expansion of roads can alleviate the volume of traffic. Firstly, the existing roads are inadequate to provide space for the growingly increasing cars and other transports. Most of the individuals who work in metropolitan areas are usually outsiders and come to work by using private vehicles. This leads to traffic congestion inside and outside the city. So, government should construct more roads and widen the existing roads which helps to scale down the levels of traffic jams and reduce accidents. On the orher hand, many people believe that building new train and subways effectively tackle these problems. Firstly, such kind of public transport are much faster than private transport and people tend to priortize public vehicles in case of long journeys. It will decrease the concentration of vehicles from traffic zones. The ownership of cars or small vehicles will reduce, resultantly, the pollution level also scaled down. Secondly, sometimes land is rarely available to extend or establish new roads but underground subways can be build there. In conclusion, Although traffic congestion should be decline by establishment of new roads, but building subways and increasing trains is better choice to reduce traffic jams.