Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs (for example working on charity, teaching sport to younger people)

A boy/girl normally gets an idea of what to do in the future, in high school only. Based on which he decides the bachelor course to be studied. The interest varies from person to person. Some have inbuilt interest in community services than in academics. When the school itself gives a chance to do these services, they take it as a platform for them to carry forward. Working on charity, teaching sports to young and poor people, taking communication class / tuition class to the rural people, etc is not paid, but gives a sort of satisfaction or a kind of an immense pleasure. If we think in one way, it's simply waste of time and energy as it is not going to help you in any way (not in monetary terms or academic wise). When it is made compulsory, we cannot assure that it will inculcate service mind in the student's mind. If there are marks as that of school education, then students have no option, they have to perform these activities. It becomes a stress again. On the other hand, it will educate the students' humanity, slowly they themselves grow interest in doing charity services. They get to know various kinds of people who are starving for education and awaiting for life changing moments, who knows it may be the they. It is provided as optional to the high school students. So it is their choice to take part. It is not for becoming popular in the society, it is a form of helping the society to be developed. It should be a voluntary one.