Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

It is sometimes suggested that high school students should contribute to the welfare of society on a mandatory basis during their studies. Though people may vary in their opinion, I am strongly convinced that this is a reasonable approach inasmuch as it benefits both community and individuals in the long run. Firstly, this essay will illustrate the positive effect on personal growth, and secondly, it will highlight the advantages for the social well-being. On no account should the development of human qualities be ignored. By teaching elderly people how to use the Internet or providing support in the shelters, the one learns basics of humanity. As a result, not only does it help to build moral standards for young generation, but it also stimulates the interest of assisting the community in the future. According to the latest Human Aid organization research, it was revealed that 7 out of 10 people are more eager to donate if they had some charity practice in their syllabus. Another reason for introduction of regular non-paid activities at high school is positive consequences for the community prosperity. If it were not for the volunteering, many social organizations would be lack of workforce to support the whole variety of projects they run. Therefore, having extra help from school students may facilitate the expansion of the impact these philanthropic organizations make. The recent program run by school and non-profit organization in London showed that it was possible to reach 20% more impoverished people and provide the meaningful support with the involvement of students. In conclusion, I agree that obligatory engagement in social serving is necessary for all high schools as it has undeniable benefits for both individual self-development and flourishing of society.