Unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children).

There have been some recommendations that community service such as working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching physical activities to children should be made compulsory for high school students. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this as I believe public service is an act that should be done willingly, not compulsorily. Firstly, public service is a voluntary act. This is because people who engage in these services within a community are volunteers who have identified the needs within the society and have resolved within themselves to commit their resources, which may include time and money to solving these needs. Taking Nigeria for example, many people recently brought out themselves to fix a drainage problem observed around the city centre. They felt the health implication of the spillage from the gutters was going to impact on the wellbeing of the people living in the area. As a result, they took it upon themselves to sanitize the environment. This was not done out of compulsion but from the willingness of the people which demonstrates the importance of community service being borne out of personal desire. In addition, sporting activities for children should be included as a compulsory exercise in schools because it is an important aspect of child development, not just a voluntary act. Doing this will ensure that children incorporate physical activities as part of the lifestyle which will result to a healthier life in future. In conclusion, although social services such as neighbourhood maintenance and charity work should be done out of passion and desire to impact life rather by compulsion, sports should be made a compulsory subject for children in school to help them grow into healthier adults.